Help - I just bought an R25!

Skippy

Fellow Frogger
Hello to all the very knowledgeable people on the board!

Well, I took the Froggy plunge, although ended up with a Renault when I had originally thought I would be in a Peugeot now.

I wonder if I might ask for a bit of guidance on my purchase and potential pitfalls of this car. I have no experience at all of Renault (apart from the Clio I drove through Europe in 98 - and that was a star car!).

Anyway, here is a little background on the 'beast'.

It is a 1995 GTX 2.2L 5 speed. It started life as an auto but was changed (properly!) some years ago. The ownership history of the car was well known to the mecahnic who I spoke with prior to purchase (he has looked after it for three owners for years).

The mechanic gave it glowing praise, and with only (wait for it) 125,000 km on the clock (wow!) I thought, 'why the hell not?' I mean, people want the same money for crappy old lasers and telstars. So I bought it yesterday for $3,000.

Apart from a scrape on the driver's rear quarter, the body is essentially spotless. Same goes for the interior. Still has original funky radio setup, complete with 80's style graphic equaliser.

A few small problems, but maybe you can tell me if these are common?

1. A/C was completely rtebuilt in 1993, but doesn't seem to work now. Everything spins and blows, just no cold air. May be a simple re-gas, I guess...

2. Acceleration is all over the place. Really jumpy acceleration down at low reves (spluttery sought of feeling) but then starts to kick on at about 3,000 RPM. Maybe just needs a tune up, or is this 'feature' just something I'll have to live with?

3. No fuel guage. Mechanic says he knows how to fix it, but requires 7-8 hours labour to pull the whole dash out. I don't mind going without, but will the electronic voice still warn me?

Well, as you can see, I have a lot to learn about my new piece of Euro-trash. I look forward to hearing from those who can help.

Thanks! Skip.