xu5m engine rebuild

apitiser

Fellow Frogger
Hi, I started pulling my spare engine apart so that I can rebuild it and get a bit more power. The head is off so some photo's were taken.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/by9Fg8x6e5nTJmQV7

How does everything look? I can get more pictures if needed

There is a bit of corrosion in the head. Is this serious or will it be fine to get filled in then get the head skimmed?
One of the camshaft caps has some pitting in it. Is this rubbish or ok? do the others look useable?

I will be pulling the crank out in the next few days so will drop that buy a shop to get measured and checked.

This is my first time rebuilding an engine and I'm in Canada so I don't have any Peugeot people close by to help so reaching out here.

I'm going to keep adding pictures as I go to the album.

Thanks

It looks ok, other than the corrosion in the head. Weld it up and skim. Are you looking to increase the CR? You can skim up to 2mm on those heads. However, this will retard the ignition timing.

As there is significant corrosion in the head, expect to see similar in the block around the liner seats. I get that area bead blasted so the true extent of any corrosion can be seen.

Attachments

• MVC-011F.JPG
    MVC-011F.JPG
    72.5 KB · Views: 184
It looks ok, other than the corrosion in the head. Weld it up and skim. Are you looking to increase the CR? You can skim up to 2mm on those heads. However, this will retard the ignition timing.

As there is significant corrosion in the head, expect to see similar in the block around the liner seats. I get that area bead blasted so the true extent of any corrosion can be seen.

Thanks for the reply.