Gouged rod journal

Haakon

1000+ Posts
Fellow Frogger
Well shit… Am I silly for wondering if this will be fine with the high spots knocked off…?

Attachments

• IMG_4622.jpeg
    IMG_4622.jpeg
    348.3 KB · Views: 127
H'mm.

I am no expert but there is an example that is very much larger to copy from less than 15mm away and that hole seems to not give any trouble.

Providing that there are no high spots, and the ridges are smoothed to a radius and not sharp edges, I would be OK with it. At least the nick is inboard from the radiused fillet on the journal transition to the crank.

Has a bearing been running on it previously (I suspect not) or did the journal succumb to a nick during disassembly?

Lets see what the engine builders think.

Cheers.

During disassembly… Turns out crawling around underneath a car pulling a crank from an engine in the car doesn’t encourage due care… I pushed a piston up out of the way on the first two rods I undid, but compression stopped it going far and I didn’t think to pull the plug… I was cold, it was raining, and short cuts were taken. And I forgot how easily this happens when you turn the crank to access the other two and it goes Clunk! Sigh.

I’ll take it to the machine shop and let them repair it I think. I’m not to be trusted clearly…

During disassembly… Turns out crawling around underneath a car pulling a crank from an engine in the car doesn’t encourage due care… I pushed a piston up out of the way on the first two rods I undid, but compression stopped it going far and I didn’t think to pull the plug… I was cold, it was raining, and short cuts were taken. And I forgot how easily this happens when you turn the crank to access the other two and it goes Clunk! Sigh.

I’ll take it to the machine shop and let them repair it I think. I’m not to be trusted clearly…