Big Brakes for the Dauphine

Ross

Fellow Frogger
Big Brakes for the Duaphine

Hi All
I am in the process of gathering together all the parts I need for a big brake conversion for the Dauphine. I have wrecked a R16 so have the calipers, caliper brackets and discs etc.

However the discs are near minimum thickness (10.7mm) so I really need new ones.

Does anyone know where I can get new R16 front discs??

Thanks Ross :renault:

Do you already have R 10 gear grafted to it? The R 10 brakes, although skinny work OK, on even a modified Dauphine, given the 700Kg or less that has to be pulled up. You can even buy the EBC Blackstuff (road type) kevlar pads for these calipers. Took a while to bed in, but work well without the dust.

Yes Ive been using R8/R10 brakes for the last 2 years with Mintex pads (on my second set of front pads) and I agree they are great brakes.
However I'm always searching for a second here and half a second there on special stages/hillclimbs etc and also planning to go to 1600cc ali block motor with 16ts gearbox internals so I think the brake upgrade would be a wise move to match the increase in performance.

Ross :renault:

The conversion is fairly straight forward. I have 2 articles (in french) to guide me however some common sense and access to some machining is all thats needed.
The R16 disc needs to be machined to bolt onto the R8/10 hub. The hub needs to be redrilled. Then you need special plates from Meca Parts to bolt the R16 caliper frames to the R8/10 stub axle. The rest is just assembly.
I can supply copies of the articles (I have translated some of them) if you want.

Just as an aside, your Dauphine gained international print exposure appearing with a small pic and honorable mention on Page 13 of the UK Classic and Sports Car magazine (Feb 2004) in an item on Targa NZ.

Sorry for getting off topic

But yea Simons right, I Saw it at the newsagent the other day, it's in the early pages of the mag.
Well done.