308 - Comments & Chipping

PaulM

Fellow Frogger
Hey everyone :) newbie here.

Have been seriously considering a 308 Diesel instead of a Golf GTD due to the amazing price atm and the special offers. I also love the look - it stands out as unique rather than like every other car.

I'd be really appreciative if anyone who owns a 11 or 12 308 to give me some feedback.

How's it handle?
Fuel economy?
Gearbox (looking at auto)?
What's the torque/power range? I read somewhere that it's avail from 1800 revs (insane) but is that really the case?
How's it handle bumps etc?
Are there any annoying traits?
Is the sunroof a gimmick or does it really work?
What about the MFD - does it give meaningful info?
Leather or cloth?
Headlights - do they do the job? I used to have bi-xennons & they are awesome.
I live in Darwin - air cond that has guts and is cold is a must. How's the 308 cope?

Also - has anyone chipped theirs? I saw Superchips boast a possible 154Kw & 445nm out of their chip. That's a stunning result (120kw/340nm standard).

Paul, Cant talk too much at all on how they drive but the look of the 308 really galvalizes views on this forum. I think they look great but fans of the brand dont like them much. Im not sure yet if I would purchase one though.

Looks initially didnt do much for me either but inside it's a different story... and once I drove it...

I've got a 2lt diesel 6spd manual hatchback

In answer to your questions..

Handles good IMO. 308 was made with a bit more sportier bent. A ubjective view..depends what you are used to.
Economy is about 5.6lt/100klm over all. I do like to punt along. Engines pulling power is lovely.
Mine's manual. hate autos with a passion.
Torque is beautiful once you get to about 1600-1700rpm. Brings a smile to my face.
Ride can be a bit jarry. but keeps a good line if road really rough.
Annoying traits... none that spring to mind.
Dont have a sunroof