Tuning 505 STI

Gus

VIP Paid Subscriber
Fellow Frogger
I just came into possession of two new gizmos for my 83 505 STI:

1) A new thermostat. Car no longer runs cool all the time(!)

2) A digital tachometer (part of a multimeter)

According to the digitial tacho, it's idling ~ 650rpm when warm which isn't good at all. The engine revs fine, but if the throttle is suddenly released the revs drop rapidly, threaten to stall, then return to 650rpm.

The Haynes manual describes a method for setting the mixture on a K-Jetronic for people w/o access to an emissions sensor. Can anyone vouch for this method's effectiveness or should I take it to the professionals? (Budget alert: I'm a uni student!)

I have a niggling feeling that while it may be bad now, adjusting it may make it worse :(.

Also, the timing is slightly retarded. Will this effect idle or just power?

Oh, and I've found the mixture screw (it's under the conical tube-like cover, in front of the airflow meter, right?) but I can't find the idle screw - where is it?

For the record, the extra air device works properly and so does the cold start injector.

Hey gus.
STI injection mixture setting is VERY sensitive.The idle speed is easy though.Look carefully down the passenger side of the inlet manifold.Under the big aluminium chamber sit's a black knob about 25mm diameter.Turn this out to speed up the engine.The idle speed drop's if the timeing is retarded(the technical stuff we won't worry about).Hope this help's. dance

Gus,

I would be very wary of trying to adjust air flow etc. on the Kjet if you don't know what you're doing: most times it will get worse and it gets very expensive if you make a mistake. I agree with Chuck, stick to playing round with the idle speed knob. Your idle is set too low; should be 900-950rpm.
For general tuning, the things you can do yourself is replace things like:
- fuel filter (every 30,000km - when was yours changed?)
- check the timing (with vacuum adv. disconnected)
- spark plugs