Renault 17 barn find

PDIDDY928s

Tadpole
Tadpole
Good evening, after owning a few Renaults in my family growing up I have decided to find a yellow 17 just like the one we had in the mid 80's. I was lucky to find one in a barn 100k west of Bendigo and after some travelling from Canberra twice I might ad(Geelong for parts) I returned home with a yellow 17. Car is in need of total restoration but being a spraypainter by trade I'm happy to take on the challenge. The previous owner says it was driven into the barn. Let's hope he was telling the truth! A few items are missing including a few main bits to mount the alternator and brackets & bolts, belt, pulley, rotor button and wires and battery leads everywhere. I've found a few nice gentleman in Sydney & Wollongong that have been of great assistance especially the guy from Sydney as he had the mounting bits for the alternator, one hubcap, 2 wheel nuts and steering wheel centre with badge, I was hoping does anyone have a wiring diagram for where the leads off the starter motor go? And which wires go where on the back of the alternator etc.... I've tried searching but never really seem to find what I'm looking for. I also need a rotor button and dizzy cap, can I buy locally at all?? It's a 73 TL so apparently has the French dizzy not the Bosch and the original alternator. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also I have 4 doors,
And 2 complete tailgates if anyone is looking for 15/17 parts?
I would like to buy a rust free Left hand front guard if anyone has one??

Plus I have a complete spare dash including dials etc...

Cheers,
Peter Daley
peterdaley1@bigpond.com

Quote Reply
Reactions:jaahn

[IMG alt="jaahn"]https://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/data/avatars/m/7/7528.jpg?1591358519[/IMG]

jaahn

Well-known member​

1000+ Posts

Fellow Frogger
Peter great find. But remember if no pictures it does not exist :rolleyes: ;)