Old vs New Turbo systems

Subterfudge

Tadpole
Tadpole
I'm new to turbo chargers but have heard about the 'ketchup effect' which older vehicles seem to have.

I have a 504 ti with FAG Kugelfisher MFI and would like to keep the all mechanical system

From what I understand, modern turbos are electronically controlled to smooth out the boost

So then would there be much performance difference between an older and more modern turbo system if neither are using an ECU? and is there any way to get more modern performance from an older turbo without compounding?

Hi Suberfudge :giggle: :whistle: welcome .
I am no expert on turbos or 504ti but here are my thoughts. Putting an old style turbo on your car will increase the air flow into the engine without doubt and the boost control valve will work OK to limit it to what ever it is set to. BUT just putting more air in will not make more power. You need to put more fuel in to make more power and the extra fuel needs to match the extra air so the engine is happy and does not burn up vital internal parts. Put very crudely :rolleyes:

I would doubt there is any information and expertise on modifying the Kugelfisher mechanical injection system to work with a turbo to get the extra fuel at the correct A/F ratio. There is your problem IMHO. You can research modern EFI systems on the web to find out what to do but with your old system you will be on your own and will need a high level of knowledge IMHO. Hmmm o_O
Jaahn

Hi Suberfudge :giggle: :whistle: welcome .
I am no expert on turbos or 504ti but here are my thoughts. Putting an old style turbo on your car will increase the air flow into the engine without doubt and the boost control valve will work OK to limit it to what ever it is set to. BUT just putting more air in will not make more power. You need to put more fuel in to make more power and the extra fuel needs to match the extra air so the engine is happy and does not burn up vital internal parts. Put very crudely :rolleyes: