Oil Change on a 03 Clio Sport

nate

1000+ Posts
Now i've done a few oil changes, but i'm no real mechanic... So i went & got some oil & a filter (genuine parts) and went to change the oil...

ARGH!!!

1) the sump has an unusual fitting to un-do it & get the oil out
2) my harms are bigger than 1cm2, so i cant easily get to the filter...

also, whats going to stop the oil from the filter going absolutely everywhere down the block/box when i remove it?

Whats the procedure to get the oil filter changed? (remove air box?)
As i can see the injection stuff, radiator hoses & a few other things in the way!!! Possibly remove the radiator?

Where can i get the right attachment for the sump?

HELP! :|

Last edited:
Have never done a change on my Clio Sport, but all my other Renaults post 1980 have an 8mm sump plug square hole.

Usually, I gather, the cars are up on hoists when changing the filters and I think its much easier then. Otherwise, you will get more oil than normal dripping over the bottom of the block and sump.

Eg, for me on my 5 GT Turbo, the easiest way for me to change the oil filter is to remove the alternator.. but I can guarantee that was not the way done originally.

nate said:
Now i've done a few oil changes, but i'm no real mechanic... So i went & got some oil & a filter (genuine parts) and went to change the oil...

ARGH!!!

1) the sump has an unusual fitting to un-do it & get the oil out
2) my harms are bigger than 1cm2, so i cant easily get to the filter...

also, whats going to stop the oil from the filter going absolutely everywhere down the block/box when i remove it?

Whats the procedure to get the oil filter changed? (remove air box?)
As i can see the injection stuff, radiator hoses & a few other things in the way!!! Possibly remove the radiator?

Where can i get the right attachment for the sump?

HELP! :|

try http://www.cliosport.net/articles/oilchange/index.asp