Hoist instalation - 3 phase to single phase

20FIVE

VIP Paid Subscriber
Fellow Frogger
Hi Aussie Froggers.

I have moved my dad's hoist into my shed which uses a 3 phase 2.2kw electric motor but I don't have 3 phase on the shed.

Can any electrical competent people advise what the best way to connect would be.

1) pay lots of money for a 3 phase connection plus wait forever for a tradie
2) replace the motor with a single phase unit - where's the best place to find them in Adelaide?
or 3) use a vsd invertor as seen on a number of sites when people need something for their cncs or lathes, such as below.

Thanks in advance.

2) replace the motor with a single phase unit -
Caveat- I'm not an electrician...
First identify the speed and type of 3HP 415VAC 3 phase motor, for example could be
2 poles 2800rpm
4 poles 1400 rpm
6 poles 960 rpm

Then identify a 240VAC single phase of same mounting bolts, speed and HP, will most likely still need an electrician to wire 15amp connection to fusebox.
These guys in Melbourne might be able to help
https://cononmotor.com.au/product-category/three-phase-motor-415v/
https://cononmotor.com.au/product-category/single-phase-motor-240v/

I just replaced the entire thing .... it was $270 delivered.

Your cheapest option will be the VFD, you will be able to control the hoist from the front of the VFD or make up a remote control the panel. You won't need the controls that are currently on the hoist.

You will need some basic wiring skills and be able to program the VFD to for either panel control or remote control, plus what ever other functions you require.