EP6 engines

RINGER

VIP Paid Subscriber
Fellow Frogger
I have read up on the issues the early engines have especially related to timing chain stretch, oil use & carbon build up.

Obviously some on here have, & I have no experience on these engines can give advise please.

What, if any, fixes have been made regarding the timing chain issue?
Is for example an aftermarket kit with double row chain & gears.

Are any later model engines interchangeable?
What's involved with a diesel swap.

These seem to be nice vehicles that end up being crushed rather than repaired.

Wrecker engines are selling up to $2000 & probably as bad as the ones, folk are trying to fix issues on.

I think y'all understand what I'm asking & hopefully we can a learn from those in the know. JG.

The new chain kits are still single chains.

I have a 2010 turbo. The original chain and tensioner was dealer changed under warranty, without asking. No further problems. I don't burn oil - possibly a litre per yearly change, but usually less. I had to clean the ports at 55k or thereabouts - it was misfiring.

The car has had no mechanical or electrical work in 11 years except the clean, pads and discs, new tyres, one rear wheel bearing, headlight globes, spark plugs, one coil, and a front strut bearing. You can add in a change of mood lighting if that counts. That's not a poor record so far. I service it myself, though I am getting over crawling under small cars.

I expect the HP pump will be well worn now.

Current EP engines are improved.

I can't imagine any economical way to fit a diesel.