BX19 buying advice

downunderyank

Fellow Frogger
Hey guys and gals, I'm new to the citroen team (not even on it yet) but I am looking very seriously at an '89 BX19 TRI that has 88K on the clock with the original owner with full service history. It has had new spheres and brakes and sounds really nice (I'm waiting for pictures). DOes anyone have one of these cars and if so would like to comment on them especially on the economy. I'm guessing they would be similar to father in laws Xantia which gets about 7.5L to 100K. I'd be happy with that. ANything else I should really be wary about with these cars. Thanks for the help!:D :roflmao:

Bx19

BTW, does anyone own one of these cars and live in Tasmania? I would love to have my wife drive one before we purchase as I would rather sidestep the same fate of the 505 diesel that I bought for her (she refuses to drive it). If so, give me a shout if you wouldn't mind us taking it around the block sometime. Thanks again. Dan.

Dan,

I was told a few days ago that Craig Salmon over at Kingston had a couple of BXs at his workshop recently. I know nothing about the cars-what model they are; whether they're for sale, or simply in for service, or who owns them (or even if they're still there) but - as there are very few BXs in Tasmania - perhaps you should give him a call and enquire about them. His number is 03 62296030.
Cheers,

I'm surprised Alan hasn't answered this yet.

IMO BX 19Tri 5spds are the pick of the models that were sold here. They don't appear to have the oil usage problems that plagued some of the later models. I had an amazing run out of a high milage BX19tri with little other than general maitenance.

Just a few pointers.

Look for :

--Trashed plastic dash/interior. Yes our sun kills it, can you live with the rattles.