BA7 gearbox oil

keithm

Fellow Frogger
Just a quick question .
I have a fair ammount of 80w90 mineral gear oil . Could I use this in the gearbox on my 504 without any harmful effects .

Thanks in advance Keith

You should be using engine oil in the gearbox.
When i was an apprentice I filled a morry minor box with gear oil and it shit big time a month later

I'm pretty sure I remember it being said (Bruce Taylor?) that it must be multigrade, non friction modified oil. Not sure if this still applies.

Dad did his apprenticeship on 504 505 604. They say engine oil but 80 90 is preferred. I run 80 90 in everything and no drams. Depends what you want.

Put g70 nulon in too. Puts teflon coating on gears.

Those gearboxes are getting older and more worn. Even 25 years ago, Maxim Motors in Brisbane (now closed) used to regularly put 80/90 goil in 504 gearboxes, without a problem.
The thing to watch out for is the oil level. They leak slowly from the gear linkage at the bottom and if you're one of those people who rarely checks gearbox oil, the thing will end up screwed.

I use transaxle oil, as in FWD models, in my BA7/5. Reckon this would have all the latest improvements in gear oil technology.

Another option is Penrite gearbox oils that are specifically designed for cars that originally specified engine oil for the gearbox. They are a multigrade oil and available in two grades, 20W-60 and 25W-70

^ Excellent...I never knew those oils existed !
Penrite really is high-grade oil, and although it is a bit more expensive than other brands, it's worth every cent. Plus, if you do your own oil changes you save a heap anyway.
I used to have a plastic tube with a funnel on the end specifically for doing my 504 and 505 gearboxes. If it's the right length, you just balance the funnel in the engine bay and gravity does the rest.

I've been using 75W 90 GL4 gearbox oil for a couple of years now
All good so far thank God

Since we're on the topic,