??????

SAMI

Fellow Frogger
Tadpole
please what is the difference between alternator & dynamo?????????

To put it simply, an alternator needs a small amount of current before it can begin to generate electricity. An alternator (by name) generates AC (alternating current).

A dynamo is a "traditional" generator. They do not require electricity before they start generating electricity. They generate DC (direct current).

You won't find anything but alternators in cars built within the last 20-30 years. I'm not sure when dynamos/generators were phased out of the motorcar industry. The electricity generated by an alternator goes through a rectifier to change it to DC for storage in the battery and/or use by the car.

There's a bit more to it than that but there's a simple-ish explanation to begin with.

Just one more addition - a magneto is an alternator which puts out huge bursts of current through a distributor - they're used on aircraft etc

Derek.

hehe mistareno

No, I'm a pilot - you learn these things at flying school :) Aircraft Systems or something I'd say the subject was called.

Haven't flown for over 5 years, but that's life.

Derek

generators output voltage varies with RPM. So at idle, old cas used to have there idiot light come on, due to lack of charge. Alternators have a flat output after 1440 (alt. rpm) so they charge at idle much better than a generator.

yep PURRR-GEOT i'm from sunny SYRIA and you have a very nice forum guys... head_ban

<a href="http://www.peugeot203turbo.freeservers.com" target="_blank">www.peugeot203turbo.freeservers.com</a>

The generator or dynamo was phased out of Peugeots in 1968 in Australia.

Contrary to what's been written above, both alternators and generators do have current run to them to 'excite' them, or to function the electromagnets that enable them to produce power.

This, on the generator, is the wire that goes to the side, the small one. On the alternator it is also usually the smallest wire.