404 1970 refurbishment

Pinsplitter

Fellow Frogger
i have posted in the parts wanted forum but thought i'd put this here coz i need a little help / advice on various things.
I've been working on the Pug for 5 months or so, some members have been a great help with parts and advice. Thanks..

- the windscreen rubber trim. How the hell do you get it back in? Any tricks?

- today having most of the exterior back together I thought i'd take her out on the road for a spin.
But I had the same problem as when I first got the car.
On releasing the clutch in 1st gear and trying to move off there is a lot of shudder and the car almost stalls , i have to keep the revs up but i can't get it to go up my steep driveway (see in pic)
There is also a bit of a whine noise at idle which goes away when the clutch is engaged.
when i first drove it (on flat ground) if i got into 2nd gear quickly it would drive fine.
Any ideas welcome........

Apart from that. the engine starts and runs quite well.
I did a lot of work on the body, far from perfect, then painted the top black and the bottom a dark grey,
polished all the trim, lots and lots of other little things as well.

- Still have to get the washer pump working.
- Redo the door linings.
- Haven't been able to get the bonnet to drop in and fit tight on closing, the end near the windscreen sits up too high.

Attachments

• P1040546.JPG
    P1040546.JPG
    360.8 KB · Views: 129
  • P1040543.JPG
    P1040543.JPG
    351.4 KB · Views: 134
  • Peugeot_404_140W.jpg
    Peugeot_404_140W.jpg
    705.6 KB · Views: 122
  • P1040542.JPG
    P1040542.JPG
    367.1 KB · Views: 129
Pinsplitter,

Nice work, keep at it.

1. The take off shudder, will be a worn and drooping rear gearbox mount.
  2. The Bonnet alignment could be? The actual hinges. they become stiff with age. Apply a good dose of Lanolin spray on th hinge pivots and and between the arms. When free and moving, regularly apply a dab of white grease to the holes where the springs attach.