307 loose gear box

gecko

Tadpole
Was driving and all of a sudden couldn't change to 1st or 2nd gear. The gearbox is floppy, and it seems only 3rd and 4th work, can't get it to reverse either.

I managed to get it home and suspect it's the gear selector cables. Not that I'm a mechanic or anything close to it, just wondering if anyone's had this issue and what's it cost to fix?

I'm in Reservoir VIC, and not sure really what to do at this point.

What engine the cables are easily viewed from the top sounds like one has popped off or sometimes the sleeve that holds the cable breaks and doesn’t allow the cable to work correctly

What engine the cables are easily viewed from the top sounds like one has popped off or sometimes the sleeve that holds the cable breaks and doesn’t allow the cable to work correctly
2L petrol, 2003. I had a quick look, couldn't see them from the top, so will take another look.

You will probably have to remove some of the air intake plastic to see. The cable end that may have gone AWOL looks like this--
be-box.jpg

Ditto Speaksgeek although mine is a 406.

Definitely the cable is broken, the one that pushes the range between 1/2-3/4-5/R.

I have done it several times recently on 206, but not 307. If it's similar, it requires:
- Remove the middle section of exhaust after the header.
- Remove heatshields
- Undo nuts holding the shifter assembly in. They are inside, under the centre trim/shifter leather boot
- From there you can probably access the back of the gearbox from underneath, looking towards the front of the car above the subframe.
- The cables connect with a ball/socket. They just push on.

You could get a whole shifter assembly off a wreck at pick a part or imlachs. On 206's there are early and late variations for the way the cables connect, and they don't interchange. I don't know if that's the same on 307's.

So summarise, a bit of a fiddly job, but not epic difficult if you can get some good clearance under the car.