306 GTI6 Clutch issue

Franky

Tadpole
Tadpole
Hello all,
I have an GTI6, It has been off the road for a few years and I'm very happy to have it running and back on the road.
An old issue as resurfaced unfortunately and I'm looking for some direction and advice:

- The clutch pedal becomes "Floppy" when stuck in traffic. Hard to describe, but the pedal itself does not fully return. - I have removed the spring assist in the pedal with better feel but the issue still happens when in stop start traffic.
- I had the cable replaced before she went into hibernation and the issues remains. (Not sure if the new cable is genuine or not)
My thinking is that the cable may sieze when in hot conditions resulting in it not returning.
Do I bite the bullet and go for a new clutch? Or is there something I'm missing?

Ps I'm no mechanic but will give it a crack and willing to learn. I also know when I'm out of my depth....
Thx for any advise

To add to the above, the clutch itself feels OK. Bites fine and doesn't judder etc.
Worst case I had, the cable came of the pedal itself leaving me stranded.

Your info is a bit confusing. How does removing the pedal spring improve "feel" and is it not unproductive to remove the spring if you want the pedal to return?

I would suggest you need to first isolate whwre the problem is. Is it the pedal? the cable? or the clutch? Disconnecting stuff and operating each in isolation might provide the clue.

The 306 uses a self adjusting cable. It's possible the adjuster is damaged, dry or seized if it doesn't return.

Yeah OK. Cheers for the reply.
Could I try lubricating the cable do you think? It feels fine most the time just when I'm in traffic it emerges.
I might try another cable and see how that goes

thx Shlitzaugen. I have read on other forums that the spring assist on the pedal was a recall or advised to remove. https://306oc.co.uk/forum/archive/index.php?thread-11543.html