205 GTI on MS1 troubles

greggwynne

Tadpole
Hi guys how are we all đź‘Ť

Just so you know, I'm not a mechanic by any means!!

So has anyone any experience running Megasquirt 1 on their little pug? I got my car a couple of year's back as part of a midlife crisis and it's well and truly given me grey hairs!! The plan was to buy it, so a little resto work and enjoy it......2 year's later it's still stuck in the garage......why you might ask.....

It's a phase 1.5 '89 1.9 gti UK import. The plan was, with my mechanic, to drop the engine, have a look and replace what needed to be replaced. Then we noticed the ECU and a couple of odd things. It is running MS1 or Megasquirt 1. The car started fine, drove alright, bit rough on idle but that was probably due to bad earthing and possibly the fact the person that installed it tapped into the old wiring loom.

Long story short, we got the correct wiring loom and replaced the old. All the engine is back in and hey presto......won't start!!

What's the problem?? Car just keeps ticking over. First off no fuel getting to the manifold, got a new fuel pump, replaced, fuel pumping, but not sure if it's got enough pressure, done bridge the relay pins and got fuel upto the rail (took a while), bolt back on.....nothing, just keeps ticking over. Spray a bit 'degreaser' in front of the minfold air inlet and the thing wants to start. This tells me it's a fuel problem?? Next......injectors?? Turn ignition on the injectors pulse only once, apparently these are meant to be continuously pulsing??

The injectors are dry.
The immobilization device is off.

My mechanic was kind of lost and he owned one of these back in the UK.

Any advice other than 'replace the loom and ecu back to original' would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

I don't know anything about MS1, but if it run before re-wiring, I would start there and check the wiring again.