Transmission whine in BA7 Peugeot 5 speed
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Fellow Frogger!

Default Transmission whine in BA7 Peugeot 5 speed

OK before everyone gets up me let me say at the outset, I have been listening to this whine in the gearbox for about 5 years and sometimes I actually enjoy it. I say to my self 'self, it is a reminder of the old 403 in overdrive". But Mrs Mac refuses to come with me in the old 404 anymore until I 'get rid of that bloody noise'.

This is the 404 that has the V6 in it.

What about putting some molleybond or some addative in it. What is it that causes this whine? Regards Graham

Advertisement

Fellow Frogger!

Is the whine still in the car when Mrs Mac hops out ?

Fellow Frogger!

Quote Originally Posted by Bob D View Post
    Is the whine still in the car when Mrs Mac hops out ?
    That's bloody funny Bob.
    Yes it is still there. So what would someone with you intelligence do about it. Banana peels,recondition the box, throw in some sawdust or put in some Slick 50? Regards Graham

Fellow Frogger!

My apologies to Lynn.

In one 504 sedan with a 7/5, low mileage box....it whined when going down a hill and foot off the accelerator....only when hot.....otherwise perfect. I did put in a tube of something...no difference....tried different oils....no different.
    I used to hate it and swapped the box as I had another.....but it was smooth and quiet at all times except downhill. Additives just did not do it but you may have better luck.

In another 504 I have, the yard yard I bought it from said that the G/Box was worn out. It whined like crazy. I replaced the inner and outer boot on the floor (no console...early model ) and that box was immediately quiet and 200,000km later, it is still perfectly quiet.

Good luck Bob

Usually the primary gears, input and the layshaft gears have been f####d by lack of oil and they have changed shape. A better box is one answer. Another layer of sound insulation, another.