205 Mi16 Dyno Results
  • Help

Default 205 Mi16 Dyno Results

I thought you might be interested in some dyno results hot off the press. Adrian Wuillemin and I have been upgrading a 205 Mi16 I originally built for a customer 15 months ago. The original engine was a slightly modified 1.9L 16V, running 10.8:1 CR and a Stage I inlet cam, on std. Motronic 1.3 managament. In that form it put out a very impressive 92kW at the wheels. Up 12-14kW ATW on a std. 108kW engine.

Advertisement

We installed a Haltech E6X ECU and fitted four Chev. LS1 coils (batch fire and wasted spark). The power jumped to a very impressive 101kW ATW. We may have tweaked it a bit more, but unfortunately the injectors hit 85-90% duty cycle. We really didn't expect it to make that much power!

You can see it (hear it) this Sunday at Oran Park.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

Damn Peter, your not meant to post such inspiring results, I keep telling myself I will be happy with std management, but another 10 kW and better drivability is so tempting.
    Has the client considered going for a stage 2 cam now that its running a haltech? I would love to see the above engine tuned to the stage 2 cam (obviously bigger injectors are needed though).

How much is an e6x going for these days? And how much does it cost to convert to the individual coils. Do you have a photo of the setup??

Keep up the good work!!!!

Dave

E6X - $1350, plus you'll need a Camira MAP sensor. Coils are $70 each, plus you'll need special leads made up, another $150.

Naturally he's very impressed with the increase. That much power in a 205 is a handfull and super competitive anyway. He doesn't need any more ideas. He's my opposition in the Supersprint series.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

Quote Originally Posted by PeterT
    E6X - $1350, plus you'll need a Camira MAP sensor. Coils are $70 each, plus you'll need special leads made up, another $150.