Can a programmable ECU (such as a Sprint 500) do this?
  • Help
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Administrator
    mistareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,926

    Default Can a programmable ECU (such as a Sprint 500) do this?

    I'm not a big fan of using a gauge to monitor oil pressure when driving hard so I was going to rig up a bright LED instead.

    I was going to purchase a 20psi low oil pressure switch and (to ensure it doesn't come on at idle) I was going to hook it up to an rpm switch so it only comes into play above say 2000rpm (normal pressure switch below that).

    The question I have is, can the ecu be configured to see oil pressure and activate an output based on pressure and engine speed (ie 10psi at 1000, 15psi @1500, 20psi@2000 etc) or should I just stick to a stand alone system.

    Advertisement


    If it can, I'll wait till I get an ECU but otherwise I'll do it old school.

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! patpug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    614

    Default

    I've got a sprint 500 and as far as I can see you can use one of the inputs for an oil pressure guage/warning system but not linked to rpm.
    Id be interested to know what switches you're using in the setup you describe though? And can you run this and keep the dash oil pressure guage working too?
    205 gti-6

    205 track car build in progress http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

  3. #3
    Administrator
    mistareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,926

    Default

    I was going to use one of these adjustable rpm switches and run the output through a 20psi or adjustable oil pressure switch. For me its much better solution than relying on a low pressure light that only comes on when the damage is probably done...

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,496

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mistareno View Post
    I'm not a big fan of using a gauge to monitor oil pressure when driving hard so I was going to rig up a bright LED instead.

    I was going to purchase a 20psi low oil pressure switch and (to ensure it doesn't come on at idle) I was going to hook it up to an rpm switch so it only comes into play above say 2000rpm (normal pressure switch below that).
    at 850 rpm on a hot motor running 15-40 (I think) full synthetic I'll get 17psi.

    Have you considered one of those moroso oil accumulators???
    Peter T wrote a thread about his install and seemed happy with its function.

    Jo

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,569

    Default

    A 500 can't but a 1000 can. I do exactly that on my 205. I have a light come on if RPM is >2000rpm and oil <40psi. You can also go a step further and have a rev limit if oil pressure is low, etc.

    Old school way is to buy a falling pressure switch from Motorsport Connections. For example, AU3242 closes 30psi/opens 32psi.

    Download the 1000 software from the Haltech site and have a look.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  6. #6
    Administrator
    mistareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    4,926

    Default

    That switch sounds like a good pressure. I could only find a 20psi switch. Thanks for that.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    sydney, australia
    Posts
    11,301

    Default

    you could probably use a normal oil pressure sender unit, and a variable voltage switch to choose your own pressure level, if desired.

    Universal Voltage Switch - Jaycar Electronics

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,569

    Default

    Yes, but you'd need to add a pull up resistor, or just buy a 3 wire pressure sender off ebay.

    I also use the pressure switch with a 5mm high intensity LED. It works very well.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger! patpug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    614

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
    A 500 can't but a 1000 can. I do exactly that on my 205. I have a light come on if RPM is >2000rpm and oil <40psi. You can also go a step further and have a rev limit if oil pressure is low, etc.
    Just another reason I should have held out and got the 1000 ha ha....
    205 gti-6

    205 track car build in progress http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •