Aftermarket ECU on 8v 205 Gti Series 1?
  • Help
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By PeterT

Thread: Aftermarket ECU on 8v 205 Gti Series 1?

Default Aftermarket ECU on 8v 205 Gti Series 1?

Im into the 2nd year of owning my s1 205 gti so I am relatively new to the scene. I am wondering if anyone can list off some of the advantages/disadvantages of running an after market ECU on one of these engines.

Advertisement

My main appeal to the idea is having a tidier engine bay (sounds crazy I know) so I was also wondering what components would I be able to part with after losing the OEM ECU. The vehicle is far from being able to be brought back to original so I am fine with modifying anything.

From what I have read, Haltech 500 seems to be a pretty good ECU, but at $900 is it going to be worth it in the end.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Kris

VIP Sponsor

Megasquirt 1 is $140 although you need to assemble the kit.
    It makes a great difference, I've done a few. Very simple leave the ignition as is and the ECU is fired off the coil primary.
    You can get rid of the airflow meter as the MS uses engine vacuum or throttle position as the load sensor.

You can buy the MS fully assembled for not that much more.

Graham

Quote Originally Posted by KrisBrown View Post
    Im into the 2nd year of owning my s1 205 gti so I am relatively new to the scene. I am wondering if anyone can list off some of the advantages/disadvantages of running an after market ECU on one of these engines.

My main appeal to the idea is having a tidier engine bay (sounds crazy I know) so I was also wondering what components would I be able to part with after losing the OEM ECU. The vehicle is far from being able to be brought back to original so I am fine with modifying anything.

From what I have read, Haltech 500 seems to be a pretty good ECU, but at $900 is it going to be worth it in the end.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Kris