renault transaxles

Toby Hunt

Fellow Frogger
guy's,
i'm new to playing with french cars, as i typically play with toyotas. anyway, i'm looking for any info regarding the 5 speed transaxle as fitted to just about every type of renault it would appear. I have a project to build a lotus seven type replica, running a transaxle in the rear (the renault one is somewhat cheaper than a hewland one..)

I've gathered up some info on the supposed gear ratios (seems to be alot of variation), does anyone know how easy/difficult it would be to change the final drive ratio? does renault or anyone make a ratio lower than 4.1:1? (like 4.3)?
how about lsd's? anything factory or that can be retrofitted? Gear sets?
lots of unusual questions here i guess, but it's kind of hard to find this sort of info.

thanks

T

Sounds like an odd Lotus 7 replica, is it more a Lotus Europa replica??

Back to basics, what motor are you using and what is the horsepower and weight? The most common gearbox used in Europas is the 352 (R12,15,17), 365(17TS/G, really rare), 395 (18, Fuego) and NG (Fuego, 25)type box. The 365, NG3 and some 395 gearboxes have 4 spider gears and are much stronger. But their diff ratios are all in the order of 3.44-3.77:1, nothing as low as 4.1:1 for these type gearboxes.

There is a place in Ballarat VIC that cuts gears for Renault 5 speed boxes for use in off road buggies. I'll check on their details and post them up here. They would have more details on what is available custom made.

Simon

i'm new to playing with french cars, as i typically play with toyotas. anyway, i'm looking for any info regarding the 5 speed transaxle as fitted to just about every type of renault it would appear. I have a project to build a lotus seven type replica, running a transaxle in the rear (the renault one is somewhat cheaper than a hewland one..)