R20 rough running?

peabody

Tadpole
My R20 is running rough in the mid range and can have quite a flat spot on take off. Seems to be carburettion as everything else looks fine. Has anyone experienced similar problems? It is intermittent and seems to be temperature sensitive. As I am no expert on the 20/18 pollution gear setup if someone can't help I will have to go into a "learning curve" mode. Will the 25 injection head go on the 20? Will the 25 motor "slot" into the 20? All these questions and more are on my mind.
Thanks out there I really enjoy this forum.

peabody:
My R20 is running rough in the mid range and can have quite a flat spot on take off. Seems to be carburettion as everything else looks fine. Has anyone experienced similar problems? It is intermittent and seems to be temperature sensitive. As I am no expert on the 20/18 pollution gear setup if someone can't help I will have to go into a "learning curve" mode. Will the 25 injection head go on the 20? Will the 25 motor "slot" into the 20? All these questions and more are on my mind.
Thanks out there I really enjoy this forum.
PB, I owned 2 20's over a period of about four years. Most of the rough running I experienced eventually turned out to be electrical in origin. Notably, the condenser on the distributor and the coil. Are your points looking like some mongrel has run an oxy torch over them? Plus I replaced the cap twice.

I swore black and blue that the problems were the carb....changed the carb several times, but in the end the problem would turn out to be electrical.

The other bastard on the air conditioned ones is the solenoid idle valve. If it is stuffed the car won't idle...wiring to the valve can be a problem as well (prone to internal cracking - maybe because of engine movement vibration..not sure) the result being an incredibly difficult to sus out intermittent fault.