Peugeot 403/203 alternator conversion - sev marchal volvo

James Gelido

VIP Paid Subscriber
Fellow Frogger
Hi Everyone,

This could be useful to anyone wanting to convert their old 203 or 403 generator to a modern alternator. As mentioned in previous posts, a Volvo Series 1 alternator will line up correctly and bolt straight on.

A bit hard to come across genuine ones, but, I was lucky enough to find a SEV MARCHAL alternator that was reconditioned and what appears to have an internal regulator (could be wrong). After some research, I found this particular alternator was used in the old VOLVO Penta Boat motors: https://ockelbo.plars.org/articles/alternator/

This is my first time doing it, and I'm not sure if I have the connections done properly, but, as per photos I have run the following;

1. B+ POLE - DIRECT TO BATTERY
2. D- POLE - GROUND
3. DF POLE - REAR OF ODOMETRE ON AMPERAGE GAUGE OUTOUT POLE (AS PER OLD GENERATOR SET UP) - INPUT POLE on amperage gauge then goes back into a fuse box that I installed, which flows from the batterys positive terminal.
4. Blank Pole to right of DF Pole (regulator), I looped to first Pole on the right which was on alternator as per this photo;

https://www.google.com/search?q=vol...ECAsQAw&biw=1440&bih=637#imgrc=FvZ_JwugrRbOZM

5. 61 - Indicator/ Exciter wire - ? Not too sure where to connect this and if necessary.

After I attached these poles, I was getting a reading of 12.5V, then when I turned on the lights, its would drop to 12.2. A properly functioning alternator should measure nothing below 13V. I also had the car at about 2000rpm.

I am thinking this could have something to do with the excite wire or something else I have missed in wiring.

Hope to hear some stuff who have done this type of conversion before.

Cheers boys and I hope everyone is keeping safe during these times :)

James

Alternator Compare.jpg
Alternator 2.jpg
Alternator 1.jpg
Alternator fuse.jpg
View attachment 1704040pdf.pdf

Last edited: