Peugeot 308 high pressure fuel pump

tchoupi19

Tadpole
Hi everyone

First of all thank you so very much in advance for your time and any help and opinion i could get from your wealth of knowledge.

Im a newbie on car and our first family car : 2011 Peugeot 308 Turbo touring petrol auto 1.6 engine

purchased used from a reputable dealer in Feb this year. I’ll try to be concise with a background of the service we’ve done perhaps they might be related.

Main issue at the moment:
Engine light is on, car is shaking, engine sounded very loud and took 5-10 min to shutdown, power loss, struggle to reach the right temp, mech’ diagnostic says it’s showing low on the high pressure fuel pump and replacement is $1300 (genuine part) and all up is about $1600.

Main Question:
1. Is that a normal price?
2. What’s the likelihood that it is a fuel pump issue? And we wont be coming back for something else the week after

Background:
Since Feb 2017
Car is thirsty of engine oil, top up with Total 5w30 when required roughly every 300km

March
Battery changed

April
Full service to a reputable mechanic (recommended from and worshipped in this forum, we’re in inner Sydney) oil flushed, new spark plugs

Sept
Finished the 5L oil

Early Nov
6mo service, oil flushed with 5w40 this time.

Nov 3weeks after svc
Put in the power maxx nanotech as directed by mech.
2days later Engine light is on, off to mech, $500 later, engine coils replaced (4th cylinder busted)

Dec week 1
Engine light on, power loss at 50k/h bout 2500, diagnosed as low on HPFP, reset, drove fine

Dec week 2
Engine light on, symptoms above, advised to change HPFP for 1600$. Should i go with it?

Thank you for any input you can give.

Sent from my iPhone using aussiefrogs

Hello,

Yep, we had ours replaced earlier this year, was initially diagnosed as bad ignition coils but didn't solve the running, hard starting or engine light issue. Price is around correct I think we paid around $1700 for it.