Petrol 504 cylinder head.

tasgill

Fellow Frogger
G'day all.
Been a long time lurker here, this is the first time I've stuck my head up. I am a Peugeot nut and currently run a 405 srdt and recently purchased a low k 1980 504 petrol.

I have found the Aussie pugs forum to be very interesting and with many good topics.

I'm having the 504 cylinder head repaired at the moment and with the welding work and new valves and guides face a bill of $740. Now to my concern, I'm a mechanic who gave it away years ago and don't really trust the people who work on cars these days, so my concern is "will my money be wisely spent"

Can any body tell me if new heads are available and at what price, or maybe someone has a really good corrosion free head lying around that they wouldn't mind selling. The head is the square port design as used in the 505's.

Terry Asgill.

Not sure about the availability of heads, Terry, but that price is pretty high if its simply for the head work (excluding fitting etc).

Cheers

Rod

Ray and Rod
the head work doesn't include the hard exhaust inserts, thats another $28 dollars ea. The head is fairly well corroded, and the front welsh plug has been washed out. They are welding an aluminum plate in its place.

The last head I had repaired (no valves or inserts) only cost about $250 but that was a few years ago. I believe the price to be very high, but I have lost contact with what is going on.

The head is being repaired here in Toowoomba by a local firm.

Terry

Go get the head back...

I would recommend PLR Engine Reconditioning for the welding, they do lots of Pug heads and I'm sure they don't charge anything like a figure that would contribute to that level of exhorbitant price.

Check around for the head work, ask if they would recommend anyone. I don't think they actually do head work there, but they may these days.

PLR are at Kremzow Road, Brendale.

i'm looking for the same thing.
Hard to get, why???