My thoughts on my 306 GTi-6!

Daelin Lis

Tadpole
Hi all, I am 20 years old, and I am based in Brisbane, Queensland and you may recall my post a few weeks back about my “brand new condition, 54,000km” 306 GTI-6” (yes, what a posey and pretentious statement). After about 2 months of owning the car I thought I’d do a write up about it.

Disclaimer: As I am only 20 years old I have limited experience (both with life and driving) so you can rake everything I say with a pinch of salt. The car is actually older than me!

I had been on the lookout for a 306 GTi-6 for about 2 years now, but the interest in these cars started in 2011 (when I was only 11 years old), and in primary school. So after 10 years of interest and 2 years of searching, when a GTI-6 in this condition and with this mileage popped up for sale, I knew I had to have it.

The last 2 months with this car have been lovely, but I’m still getting used to it. It’s seats aren’t the best, it’s electric windows feel flimsy, it’s door trim falls off if you dare closing the doors too hard and the airbag light occasionally makes an appearance. But as soon as you stick the boot into it on a twisty back road, all those little niggles “go away”.

I was initially considering perhaps purchasing a MK5 Golf GTI if those issues bothered me. Don’t get me wrong, the GTI-6 is a rather refined car for its age, but it does feel “cheap” My grandfather owned one before swapping it for a new MK7 GTI, and as amazing as the MK5’s are as a “do it all allrounder” with German build quality to a very high standard, I don’t think it provides the same thrills as the older GTI-6 does.

Anyway, here’s the verdict so far:

The day to day: