Importing 205 gti from europe

barrysheridan

Tadpole
Hi guys,

i have lived in Australia for the past 10 years and have a 205 gti sitting back in Ireland which is under going a ground up restoration. I am looking to import it into Australia in 2019. It seems a daunting task can anyone give me advice on where to start.
I am a resident of Australia and the car is a Peugeot 205 gti 1986 and been in my possession for more than 10 years.

There is a personal import scheme, which it sounds like you qualify for.
As it is being restored, it would be worth documenting any and all potential sources of asbestos, gaskets, brakes, clutch etc and keeping those records very carefully. Australian customs are now known to be extremely vigilant on any asbestos on imported cars.

For any other advice, best consult a professional import company, there are plenty of them.

Good advice above. Get documents of brake pads and clutch that have no asbestos and you should be good to go. Its will also be eligible for for cheap clubs plates!

Cam

There is a personal import scheme, which it sounds like you qualify for.
As it is being restored, it would be worth documenting any and all potential sources of asbestos, gaskets, brakes, clutch etc and keeping those records very carefully. Australian customs are now known to be extremely vigilant on any asbestos on imported cars.

For any other advice, best consult a professional import company, there are plenty of them.

Thank you I will look into that scheme. I have replaced all the gaskets, clutch and pads etc with modern components. Not that I examined them but I don’t think there will be any asbestos in modern car parts which I purchased in the past two years. Does a list exist of asbestos components on a 205. I know the sound deadening under the bonnet contains it.

Thanks again, if anyone can recommend an import company they have dealt with I’d appreciate it.