Cylinder Head Advice

Katana

Fellow Frogger
I've started pulling the cylinder head off a 306 S16 (XU10J4) to replace the head gasket and was hoping for some advice from the engine builders and guru's on this forum.
I've rebuilt many a 2 stroke motorcycle but this is my first time tackling a cylinder head, so please go easy and forgive any bone head questions. :joker:

What do you guys make out of this lifter bore damage? The damage is on the exhaust side lifter bores only (adjacent each head bolt hole) and to me at least, seems to be from someone previously having a socket hang up underneath the bore when removing the head bolts?
I've also attached a couple pictures of general bore wear for your thoughts.

One of the hydraulic lifters has damage and I'm guessing most likely due to the damaged bores. Perhaps a piece of metal being dislodged? Is this lifter still serviceable or replace? A couple of other lifters have minor marks (attached).

The 8 exhaust valve guides have obviously been replaced at some point but 2 of the 8 exhaust valves and seats are now very worn on one side. Can these out-of-round seats be re-cut correctly or will new seats need to be installed first? (The worn valves/seats are already sitting a lot lower in the head compared to the others.)

I would also like to get your opinions of whether it's worth having this head repaired or to find another in better condition before handing over to the machinist for refurb?
I will be dropping by the machinist next week for a chat but would like to get fellow forum members thoughts too.

Any advice appreciated and thanks in advance.
Cheers :cheers:

Attachments

• P1060123.jpg
    P1060123.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 242
  • P1060143.jpg
    P1060143.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 238
  • P1060150.jpg
    P1060150.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 230
  • P1060129.jpg
    P1060129.jpg
    87.3 KB · Views: 219
  • P1060151.jpg
    P1060151.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 236
  • P1060148.jpg
    P1060148.jpg