In trouble again- DS electrics!

tresbon

Fellow Frogger
Hi guys, I have another problem with the electrics.

My DS21bvh is supposed to be a late 1970 model. I have factory and Autobook W/S manuals but neither show a wiring diagram with the 8 fuses which my car has. The Autobook manual has a wiring diagram for cars 'since Sept. 1969' showing 4 fuses only. Otherwise it appears to cover my car quite well.

However my car has obviously been modified over the years, with a remote solenoid for the starter fed via a generic relay. I understand that my model would have originally had a starter with attached solenoid, so it appears that it has been 'upgraded' to an earlier system! The relay has 4 terminals, 2 connected to the main cable from the battery, one connected to the small solenoid terminal and one to a wire leading back to the battery area. This last is obviously (?) to supply the power from the starter switch. Before I started playing around under the bonnet it was connected, via a very crude piece of wiring, to a wire coming out of the loom. This wire broke off at the loom, so I connected another wire and then connected that to the wire from the relay. It was now as before or so I thought.
However, operating the starter switch brought no response, so I checked this wire, expecting it to have no power. To my surprise it has 12v at all times. So it cannot be powered from the starter switch or that switch is faulty or ????

To complicate matters, the original voltage regulator (which I think incorporated a relay) has been replaced by by a rather ancient looking solid state device. This has only 2 connections, not the 4 on the original, hence there are 2 unattached wires from the adjacent loom. (I assume that the relay connected to the starter solenoid has replaced the relay in the regulator?)

I guess that my next move is to trace the wire from the starter switch to - where-ever it finishes.