'87 505 GLS Fuel Injection System

wadehilts

Fellow Frogger
Hi all,

I just purchased an '87 505 GLS with 220k miles on the odometer, I have a lot of experience working on 404s, having done a complete mechanical restoration of my 1969 404 (at age 22, I may be the youngest person in North America to have rebuilt an XC6 engine!). The 505 is new to me. I don't know if you Aussies had a similar model 505 as the US GLS model, but I'm hopeful.

It has the ZDJL 2.2L in it, and it recently was completely rebuilt. Everything new except for the fuel injection system, which is the Bosch Jetronic LU2 - i think. I am picking up the car on Saturday, but have test driven it and would like to sort out a few issues. My goal is to maximize the gas mileage and power that the car gets. Here are the problems that may be related to the fuel injection system that I am aware of:

The previous owner says that the gas mileage has dropped from 20 mpg in the city to 18 mpg in the last couple months.

• The tachometer bounces all over - especially about 2000 rpm. It is almost useless at this point.

• The previous owner says that the gas mileage has dropped from 20 mpg in the city to 18 mpg in the last couple months.
I found this technical document on peugeot505.info : http://peugeot505.info//files/manuals/tt-sd-nsd_15-5.pdf. This seems to be a good place to start troubleshooting, but some of the testing requires a "tachymetric bypass harness P/N 0091.94" and something tells me I'm not going to find one of those. Keep in mind, my goal here is to improve gas mileage and power if possible. Does anybody have recommendations as to what I can test? Are there any parts I should just go ahead and replace? Would a different fuel injection system with better efficiency be an option? I'm open to anything at this point, just looking to learn. I will talk to the former owner tonight, so if I should ask for any more information, let me know!