505 (XN1 engine) not starting - help required (Sydney)

beat

Fellow Frogger
Hi fellow froggers,
I'm new to old Peugeot's (having owned a 307 and 308 some time ago). I do have some - but limited - mechanical knowledge and tools and wonder if anyone can help me out.
I've been overseas and haven't started my 505 SR (2 litre carbie engine) for over 2 weeks, it was running fine before. Now I cannot start it, it cranks over fine. I did have some spark (but don't know if it's "good"). Also sprayed some starter fluid into the air intake - that didn't help neither. After a few attempts I've also noticed that there's a little bit of noise coming from near the left hand side of the firewall (see attachment). What is that part (couldn't even find it in the workshop manual)? No idea if it's got to anything do with it, but since I've noticed I thought I'll mention it.
I'd like to get the car running as soon as possible, as I'd like to help the French in the Battle of Waterloo next Sunday.

Now my questions:
- Does anyone know of a mobile mechanic in Sydney (preferably South) who's happy to work on old Peugeots.
- Anyone in (southern part of) Sydney who could help me? (I live in Woolooware/Cronulla) - I know it's a long-shot, but doesn't hurt to ask...
- What is that part circled in the attachment?
Any other comments are appreciated.

20180610_103316-highlighted (Large).jpg20180610_103320 (Large).jpg

Cheers, Beat.

Last edited:
Yes, it's definitely the cabin fan, it's not unusual for them to make a noise particularly if it's not been unused for some time, worth just putting the fan control to high and running for a few minutes as that can settle them down, it's important o note that there is no off position for the fan, so whenever the ignition is on the fan will run.
Regards
Neil

Given that the relay says "starter" I wonder if that has shorted or gotten full of moisture? Although if the engine is cranking? Dunno, but cars get cranky if they don't get driven!