404 Wagon

Ebunn

Tadpole
Hi all,

Long time frogger, first time to share a project.

Yesterday my dad and I received our tinkering project of a 1963(i believe) 404 wagon! It had 3 owners before us, and the last owner had is sitting in a shed since the early 80's.

20190214_153220235.jpg

Body is quite good apart from some small surface rust on the roof and the odd panel, but underneath looks pretty good.

Paint will look ok after we give it a cut and polish, but will need a spray eventually.

Engine won't turn over and the brakes are not functioning. Door rubbers need replacing and seats need re-upholstering.

We were fiddling around this afternoon with a bit of "let's take the bonnet off so its easier to get to the engine when we get there". Then "let's take the radiator out so its easier to get to the engine when we get there".
Before we knew it we had the head off! I have some mechanical knowledge, and dad has had Peugeots since as long as I can remember. We will try and get the pistons free and see what happens from there. Dad has already fashioned up some washers to keep the sleeves in place.

Here is a photo of the head. What do you think? Rebuild or see if we can source a second hand head. Being a '63, I believe the engine is a 1618cc 3 bearing? Gearbox would be a C3?
Oh and dad mentioned something about he thinks the Welsh(?) plug is missing in the head behind the water pump? Could this be?

20190215_181159025.jpg

I don't think 30+ years of sitting has done much good for the engine...

So should we get the head done or find a second hand one?