404 diff wobble

Dan404

Tadpole
Tadpole
Hi guys,

I have a 404 which runs well but the diff is a bit wobbly. By that I mean when travelling at certain speeds the car has jerky motion. I was told by the previous owner that it was due to a worn pinion.

At some stage I’d like to get that diff sorted. I’ve heard the pinion can be flipped to the less worn side but I’ve never worked on these cars before so have no idea what I’m doing.

Im thinking I should probably get a new pinion anyway, what are your thoughts on that?

Also, not sure if I feel confident enough to the job myself, I’ve changed plenty of banjos in old Holdens but this looks slightly more complicated.

Any advice on where to buy the pinion or who would be best to do the job would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Dan

Attachments

• C9F62C1A-706D-4C72-B5F4-AC3E95BBF61A.jpeg
    C9F62C1A-706D-4C72-B5F4-AC3E95BBF61A.jpeg
    290.3 KB · Views: 49
Surge was a problem with some Peugeots at steady speed. I'm scratchy remembering the details given it was the 1970's but I remember it being discussed. Others will know more. Don't be too quick jumping in to do the diff before you confirm it's the problem.
I vaguely remember they could surge if the ignition timing/ carby settings were wrong.

Surge was a problem with some Peugeots at steady speed. I'm scratchy remembering the details given it was the 1970's but I remember it being discussed. Others will know more. Don't be too quick jumping in to do the diff before you confirm it's the problem.
I vaguely remember they could surge if the ignition timing/ carby settings were wrong.
That’s interesting, thanks for the tip. Maybe I’ll start with a good tune up first.

A worn distributor can do this. If you have access to a low mileage 403/404/504 dizzie try doing a swap to see if it makes a difference. Of course adjust the dwell angle and ignition timing correctly. I bought a brand new dizzie for my 403 many years ago and have never had a problem with surge.