1974 ‘D’ Citroen. Help wanted

Buckle

Tadpole
My 2.3 ltr. fuel injected sedan runs rough on overrun and on overrun and low throttle, however, it goes well under full power. It has new plugs, points, spark plugs and leads and condenser. I have changed the throttle valve switch and the timing is O.K. I would be happy for any input to get me running smoothly. Thanks in anticipation.

Mmmmm, I'm no expert on these things, my '72 DS21 ie has some similar hesitations and backfiring when starting to apply power after overrun. It runs well the rest of the time....... similarly I have attended to the normal things, but it seems that somewhere there is a valve or sensor that is not happy.

I guess we have to expect some things like this on 50 year old electronic stuff.

Mmmmm, I'm no expert on these things, my '72 DS21 ie has some similar hesitations and backfiring when starting to apply power after overrun. It runs well the rest of the time....... similarly I have attended to the normal things, but it seems that somewhere there is a valve or sensor that is not happy.

I guess we have to expect some things like this on 50 year old electronic stuff.
Many thanks, will look into this

This post would be better in the Citroen forum. With that said, have a look at all the vacuum lines to make sure there are no cracks or holes in any of them. Don’t forget the rubber couplings between the inlet manifold and the inlet runners.

Next is to check that fuel pressure is holding steady at 28psi both at idle and full throttle.

Check the ignition timing so set properly and the leads, coil and condenser are in good order.

Your 23 will have a deceleration valve in the air line between the air filter and throttle body. If it’s not working properly I think it will cause the problem you have. Dirty contacts in the throttle switch can also cause strange problems particularly if the idle contacts are dirty.