508 Gt Wagon

JAJEA

VIP Paid Subscriber
Fellow Frogger
As there is no C5 replacement /equivalent, looking at the 508 Gt.
Any thoughts /comments / knowledge on this Peugeot greatly appreciated.
John

I was a long-time C5 driver, having a had a three models: a 2007 C5 V6 Exclusive (hatch), a 2011 C5 X7 2.0 diesel Tourer, and lastly a 2015 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Tourer. All great cars, especially the X7 Tourers.

With the demise of the C5 I switched to Peugeot and purchased a 508 GT Sportswagon in September 2020, almost a year ago.

I love the 508. It's a better car in every way. Compared with the C5's 2.0 litre diesel, the Peugeot's 1.6 litre turbo petrol engine with 8-speed gearbox is quiet, smooth and as the car is more than 200kg lighter, it is very quick off the mark. Handling is superb. Get onto some winding roads and it will put a smile on your face, guaranteed. The driving modes with adaptive suspension work well. Comfort mode gives you a ride much like the C5. Sport mode is the opposite, quite firm and the change it makes to the gearbox behaviour are a lot of fun.

The Peugeot 'cockpit' styling in the cabin is different to the C5 but it's another aspect I love about the car - lower and smaller steering wheel with higher-set dashboard and digital screens.

The car has been 100% reliable in its first year. Mine was purchased from Continental Cars in Sydney who I highly recommend.

About the only thing I would say is a minor negative is the rear visibility. The car has smaller frameless door windows and the glass at the back is heavily tinted, so rear vision isn't as good as the C5. You have to rely on the reversing camera and sensors more than you might have on the C5 but you get used to it.

Overall, after almost a year of ownership, I'm still really pleased with the car and love driving it. The best car I've owned.