help with gti 180 rear beam
  • Help
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By crembz

Thread: help with gti 180 rear beam

Default help with gti 180 rear beam

Hi,

I've been trying unsuccessfully for the past 4 weeks to find someone to repair what seems to be a worn rear beam on a 2004 gti 180. Pedders have diagnosed the creaking noise as coming from the rear beam axle. They either don't know how or care enough to fix it.

I've been to 3 mechanics who are recommended on this forum who have said it's too big a job and that I should sell the car. Thay said the beam had to be resleaved or something ... I'm not a mechanic so I don't really know what that means. I haven't even been given a price for the repair ... nobody seems to want to do it.

Thing is I only bought the car 6 weeks ago and it's only done 80000ks :'( I checked a trade in price and I stand to loose about 5k if I go down that path. I really like the drive, but the noise the rear is making is insane.

I can't understand why it's such a big problem either ... there are tonnes of 206s on the roads here ... not exactly an uncommon vehicle or an uncommon problem with the vehicle. I understand the fix is about a GBP400 job in the UK. Why are we so special here?

Advertisement

Can anyone tell me where I should go to get this fixed. I'm starting to really run out of options.

Have you thought about looking interstate? There are a couple of ripper Peugeot people in Sydney. Have you approached Peugeot? Or Alpine Affaire?

Chris

As stated on here before, your beams bearings are worn out. They need replacing. Taking the car to more people to diagnose it wont actually change whats happening. The above mentioned people will be able to help. I would hate to know what Peugeot would charge for it.

Cam
    94 205 Gti Classic #9
    91 205 Si
    87 205 GTi Race Car
    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html