Wiring spotlamps
  • Help
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    1000+ Posts catshamlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hiding in a bush somewhere in ENGLAND
    Posts
    5,312

    Default Wiring spotlamps

    Pre-crash I asked about wiring a pair of spotlamps. For simplicity call it a 505. I got the advice I needed, many thanks......
    So I've fitted them and they're wired so they only come on by the switch on the dash. There's a relay fitted.
    Can someone please explain how to wire them so when they're switched on at the spotlamp switch they only come on with full beam?
    I'd like it so that if the spotlamp switch is off only the headlights are on full beam.
    Does that make sense?

    Anyway, help appreciated.

    Advertisement




    Mike.
    Started out with nothing, still got most of it left.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catshamlet View Post
    Pre-crash I asked about wiring a pair of spotlamps. For simplicity call it a 505. I got the advice I needed, many thanks......
    So I've fitted them and they're wired so they only come on by the switch on the dash. There's a relay fitted.
    Can someone please explain how to wire them so when they're switched on at the spotlamp switch they only come on with full beam?
    I'd like it so that if the spotlamp switch is off only the headlights are on full beam.
    Does that make sense?

    Anyway, help appreciated.



    Mike.
    At the moment you have the 12 volt +ve power feed to the dash switch directly from an "ignition on" fuse/circuit?

    Disconnect the ignition on feed and connect the switch feed to the headlight full beam circuit, probably best found at plug that connects the steering column combination switch to the main loom.

    Clear as mud in beer bottle?

  3. #3
    bob
    bob is offline
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Skipton
    Posts
    2,543

    Default

    G'day Rob,

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    ......Clear as mud in beer bottle?
    no problems, dunno 'bout Mike though, he's from over there, like SWMBO, could be in deep ..... here

    BTW, you are talking about the relay switching feed, Mike, not the power feed ?

    cheers,
    Bob

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts catshamlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hiding in a bush somewhere in ENGLAND
    Posts
    5,312

    Default I just love all things electrical......

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    At the moment you have the 12 volt +ve power feed to the dash switch directly from an "ignition on" fuse/circuit?

    Disconnect the ignition on feed and connect the switch feed to the headlight full beam circuit, probably best found at plug that connects the steering column combination switch to the main loom.

    Clear as mud in beer bottle?
    The switch I'm using is the heated rear window switch. The wire that used to run to the HRW now runs to a relay under the bonnet.
    So is that all I need to do, alter the feed to the switch? Nothing to do at the relay end of things?

    Quote Originally Posted by bob View Post
    G'day Rob,

    no problems, dunno 'bout Mike though, he's from over there, like SWMBO, could be in deep ..... here

    BTW, you are talking about the relay switching feed, Mike, not the power feed ?

    cheers,
    Bob
    Not sure what you mean Bob. But hey, there's no smoke without fire!



    Mike.
    Started out with nothing, still got most of it left.

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catshamlet View Post
    The switch I'm using is the heated rear window switch. The wire that used to run to the HRW now runs to a relay under the bonnet.
    So is that all I need to do, alter the feed to the switch? Nothing to do at the relay end of things?



    Mike.
    Provided you have the relay contacts are fed from an "always live 12v" then all you need to do is to alter the switch feed wiring.

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts catshamlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hiding in a bush somewhere in ENGLAND
    Posts
    5,312

    Default

    Thanks, Mr Mac. I'll give it a go.

    But I'll have the boys on standby, just in case........



    Mike.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wiring spotlamps-trumpton-fire-brigade.jpg  
    Started out with nothing, still got most of it left.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    sydney, australia
    Posts
    11,301

    Default

    my boys are always on standby.

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts catshamlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hiding in a bush somewhere in ENGLAND
    Posts
    5,312

    Default Thanks Mr. Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    Provided you have the relay contacts are fed from an "always live 12v" then all you need to do is to alter the switch feed wiring.
    Thanks Rob, took the feed for the foglight switch from near the left headlight, works a treat. No smoke, no fire.



    Quote Originally Posted by alexander View Post
    my boys are always on standby.
    From here, that feels suspiciously like a double entendre.



    Mike.
    Started out with nothing, still got most of it left.

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,160

    Default

    Wiring to make them come on when you use the high beams:

    Output from the existing high beam switch --> switch on dash for relays --> new spotlight relay trigger.

    So then when your spotlight switch is "on" - they work via the high beam
    When the spotlight switch is "off" they will never come on

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •