detuned 1.9 205gti
  • Help

detuned 1.9 205gti

I know this question has been asked a thousand times, but I'm pretty new to all this stuff......however......I have a lovely 205 gti 1.9 model that apparently was detuned before coming to the land of Oz to run on 91 octane unleaded.
    Now the problem is can I easily re-tune it to run better on Optimax.....
    I have ported the air intake & used a bigger butterfly.....as well at added a 2.5 inch exhaust with a figh flow cat.
    evil
    Would I require new pistons, new euro spec computer, new cam, shave the head? What did the French do to detune it in the first place ?

Advertisement

Cheers
    Cosmo
    1993 205 GTI
    2009 MX5

Three things spring to mind:

1. Compression - difficult to improve unless you fit pistons from a series 2. Shaving the head will not result in a significant enough improvement, to take advantage of 98. Perhaps a skim and an icrease in ignition advance down low will see some improvement. Skimming OHC heads usually retards the valve timing, and often there is not enough metal there for a decent shave like in the good old days.

2. Valve Timing - the timing is retarded 4 degrees crank, to improve emissions, by way of a different pulley. Three choices here; vernier pulley, original UK pulley or offset key.

3. Cat. - fit a high flow after market unit, say from a 5.7L V8, if your environmentally conscious, and/or worried about the law. Otherwise, knock the centre out.

I doubt a 1.9L engine can flow enough at 6000RPM to make use of a 2.5" exhaust. I would have used 2.25", and enjoyed the extra torque.

These are the cheap alternatives. The rest costs more money. I can help with progammable ecu's if you want to go that far.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4