Powerchips for 205 gti??
  • Help
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    4

    Powerchips for 205 gti??

    I have read some good things and some bad things about powerchip. They qoute a power increase from 75 to 85kw for the 87-91 205 gti and 90 to 104kw for the 91- model. Is there any truth to these figures? They seem fairly high.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! DTwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    770

    Default

    Did you read those figures on the powerchips site?

    <a href="http://http://au.powerchipgroup.com" target="_blank">Powerchips AU</a>

    the figures seem optimistic.....and the chips seem expensive at $715 (6kw improvement) to $935 (10kw improvement).... they're flywheel figures so who knows how much you'd actually feel at/behind the wheel.....

    Testimonials seem emphatic enough.....placebo effect in full force?

    I do like their return policy though

    Do you offer a test trial period?
    We have conducted extensive testing on all of our POWERCHIPS prior to the release of them to the public, ensuring that all claims are met. We can only refund money for a Powerchip if the customer proves using a certified Porsche Cup Dynometer that the claims were not met.
    Anyone have a "certified Porsche Cup Dynometer" handy? wink

    anyone have any experience with "powerchips"?
    ________
    Volcano Vaporizer
    Last edited by DTwo; 22nd August 2011 at 05:33 AM.

  3. #3
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,472
    The early 205 GTI does not have a digital computer. A simple chip change to improve performance (as in EPROM etc.) is not possible therefore.
    The people I talked to in Adelaide some time ago advised that improvements were made by changing resistor values etc in the analogue computer. $700 worth? Maybe not.
    Be aware of what is to be done to your computer and don't be conned.

    Regards, Graham Wallis

  4. #4
    Good Sport danielsydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    4,918
    Does anyone know of any chips that will suit the f3n engine on the Renault 19.

  5. #5
    Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Ballarat,Vic,Aust.
    Posts
    16,757
    Daniel,

    the R19 motor is a torquey little lump, so even if you did find a chip that increased power, you'd probably find it would take away from low down torque ... Would you 'feel' another 6-10kilawatts through the old slushbox anyway

    seeya,
    Shane L.
    'Cit' homepage:
    Citroen Workshop
    Proper cars--
    '85 Series II CX2500 GTi Turbo I
    '63 ID19 http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/citro%EBn-forum/90325-best-project-car-you-have-ever-seen.html
    '72 DS21 ie 5spd pallas (last looked at ... about 15years ago)
    '78 GS1220 pallas
    '92 Range Rover Classic ... 5spd manual.

    Yay ... No Slugomatics


    Modern Junk:
    '07 Poogoe 407 HDi 6spd manual

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,555
    I've had two experiences with PowerChip. Their chip for the 160hp Mi16 (XU9J4) worked very well. It wasn't dynoed, but gave a huge 1 sec improvement in 80-120 times. Their 148hp Mi16 (XU9J4Z) version did nothing other than turn the fuel on during overun. Peugeot already had the maps 99% right.

    All a chip can do is correct mixtures and/or ignition timing. Remember there is an ideal mixture for any given load/RPM. Manufacturers often go lean and/or retard timing to improve emmissions.

    Not sure what Graham Wallis means.

    If you're looking to make more hp, you'll need more than a chip anyway. Look for a fuel only programmable ECU on the second hand market. They start at around $400. You can leave the std. ECU in place and use it to fire the new ECU.

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  7. #7
    Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,203
    I agree with Shane, the chip would only cencentrate on power, and probably loose out on low down torque which is more useful for town driving.

    Also I've heard lots of differing reports on various chip upgrades, the worst one being lean when cruising at high speeds leading to premature engine failure.

    It's your money though, so try one out let us know how it goes.

    <a href="http://au.powerchipgroup.com/search/search.asp" target="_blank">http://au.powerchipgroup.com/search/search.asp</a>
    1963 Renault R4 Van
    1964 Renault R4
    1967 Volkswagen 1300 Deluxe
    1969 Renault 8 Gordini 1300
    2002 Land Rover Defender Td5 130 - ex-CFA Region 4
    2005 Renaultsport Clio 182 Cup

  8. #8
    Good Sport danielsydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    4,918
    I take that advice on board and give the chip a miss. My engine is not real powerful as it is so I wont be bothering with it anyway.
    Advice taken...

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    490
    Powerchip do not have an engine dyno yet quote power figures at the flywheel. I also read an interesting interview with Wayne Besanko (owner/manager) of Powerchip and he seemed very evasive of the questions asked.

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    396
    Graham is correct on the resister value call.

    Visit a site named :

    <a href="http://www.205gti.com" target="_blank">www.205gti.com</a>

    In the index field on the left hand side is a section specifically set up for the bosch computers on the early 205's. It outlines the resisters you need to change, and with what values. My father is an electronics technician so I am goig to get him to look at it to see if its worth doing, can always change it back.

    It takes the standard "block" type delivery pattern of the fuel and makes nice peaks and troughs (rather than an on / off arrangement)depending on the rev range/WOT, kind of like over sampling. Fuel when you ned it and economy when you dont.

    Failing that, try to get a hold of a K&N 57i induction kit, its a bit of messing around to get it on, but the throttle response is much better, not to mention the induction noise gets rid of about a meter of standard inlet tube.

    Cheers

    Chipper

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts PeterT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Castle Hill, Sydney
    Posts
    7,555
    I thought Aus. 205's had Motronic rather than L-Jetronic. When did they change?

    '92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

  12. #12
    VIP Sponsor
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    9,472
    Peter,
    The 90 kw car had the Motronic (digital) system, JAz motor as also fitted to 405 I believe.

    Regards, Graham Wallis

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •