Welder
  • Help

Thread: Welder

1000+ Posts

Default Welder

Hi, has anyone used a DHC2000 welder? And what is your opinion?
    www.welddownunder.com
    Cheers

Advertisement

Formerly known as the Dillon welder. The Dillon were a reasonable cutting welding torch, but like all gas welding systems requires a skilled hand to operate effectively, its main feature was that it operated on low gas presure which kept gas consumption down. Don't know about the quality of the DHC 2000 but dillons were OK.
    Regards Pete

I am gunna get another 403 on the road........one day

I've used on when I was in my trade and found them good for silver soldering tubing and the like.
    As a welder, I'd make a good pastry cook but I was always a dab hannd at doing the plumbing work on systems that required them to be able to withstand many p.s.i. and to also have to sweat copper to ferro as well as like metals, so if it's for pipe work I'd say from experience they're great but get someone elses opinion on the welding side of things. I once saw a demo where the (skilled) operator cut a Coke can in half and stuck it back together using one of the Dillons, whereas I'd be flat out sticking 16G steel together without blowing holes in it.

Alan S
    If it ain't broke, use a 12" shifter.....that usually does the trick!!

if you're a competent oxy-acetylene welder, you'll have no trouble mastering the Dillon. It has a very small heat affected zone, making it ideal for body repairs, where no filler rod is used. They require special regulators however, as they only use 4-8psi.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

they are a bit of a gimmick.............ok for welding really thin stuff, like tin plate, car panels, (alfoil ).

no good for welding anything decent.

i like their little speach about how it competes with tig and mig......well it really has nothing on tig and mig, and even stick for that matter....

but its allright for little home jobs on car panels or silver soldering water pipes