Bleeding brakes
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: Bleeding brakes

al

Default Bleeding brakes

I've never done this before, but the Haynes speaks of putting some hose over the bleed valve, and then immersing the other end of that in fluid...

Is this the best way to do it? I've seen it done a few times, and i don't recall anybody ever using hose or a jar.

Advertisement

Anyway, sorry if this is a stupid question.
    405 Mi16 - Sold - Now back
    205 Mi16
    505 GTi

Hey Al,

the environmentally friendly way is to use a clear plastic tube and glass jar. This, of course, stops brake fluid from leaking onto concrete, paint or any other surface that you may not wish tio have stained or poluted.

Small added advantage here of being able to see exactly what is coming out of you caliper, paticulate matter, water, rust etc., and being able to judge when air is completely clear of circuit.

A bit fussy for some but a natural technique for others.

Would be appropriate if you were going to flush sustem.

ed ge

Default My favourite thing

One of my favourite homemade tools for this job is the old Kikkoman soy sauce jar and the clear plastic tube. The narrow top gives excellent control over the hose, and if you wrap a bit of coathanger around the neck of the jar you can hang the assembly from nearest coil spring or brake hose. This helps because now you don't kick it over when fumbling about to get to the bleed nipple.

Hoges

Al,
    If you are doing this job Solo, you can get bleed kits form supracheeeep, these have a one way valve at the end of the tube and don't let air back into the system.
    What car are you bleeding brakes on?