Alternator Switch
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA. USA
    Posts
    69

    Default Alternator Switch

    Hey all...

    Advertisement


    What would switching my generator for an alternator entail, on my 65 R8G... R1134?

    Thanks in advance.

    Josh

  2. #2
    Member 750sport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I am looking at the same thing on a 812 engine (R8G R1135), the Alpine 110 1300 uses this motor with a fabricated upper alternator bracket.

    This bracket from the Alpine 110 seems to be best option, but are rare. I do not know what alternator the Alpine uses.

    Can anyone add information?
    "fast , cheap and reliable...you can only pick two"

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,050

    Default generator to alternator swap

    Quote Originally Posted by Gordinowitz
    Hey all...

    What would switching my generator for an alternator entail, on my 65 R8G... R1134?

    Thanks in advance.

    Josh

    Should be very straight forward.

    Make the alternator fit on the engine physically. Check the engine it is off, has roughly the same size pulley as the engine it going to fitted to. It should spin at about same speed (must faster than a generator) and in ideal world the same direction (so the fan works well)

    Remove the existing voltage regulator for the generator - Identify the battery main charging cable (the very heavy one) , extend and fit to the big stud, lug on the alternator.

    As to the other cabling, if you get an alternator with a inbuilt regulator then usually all that is needed is 3w lamp connected to a fused ignition switched supply on one side and the other side to the small terminal on the alternator.

    If the Renault has a charge indicator lamp for the generator you may be able to use that. Simple check is to connect the indicator lamp wire, from the old regulator to the car chassis, if it lights up the lamp then you can use it for the alternator.

    I would be looking for an alternator with an inbuilt regulator off a Holden, or Ford , don't be afraid to adjust the aluminium mounting brackets with a hacksaw to make them line up. Also the Holden or Ford tensioning bracets can be bent and re-used.

    If you cut the alternator bracket seal the innards with tape first to stop sh!t falling in.

    One more thing if you have an ammeter in car the alternator will pin the needle after start up due to very high charge rate - either don't use the ammeter or put a shunt resistor across it. PM me if you have the problem.

    Best of luck

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts Frans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,491

    Default

    On the NZ Renaults we are using the Mitsubishi alternators taken from a Mazda. I know it sounds weird but it is "Mitsubishi Electric Corporation". It fits direct and all you need is a 1mm spacer on the front of the block and then whatever is needed on the back. Battery charge cable and battery light is already existing. It can be easily modified to be switched on and off and that will give you an extra 3 - 5 hp. For free!
    Frans
    Old enough to know better
    Young enough to do it anyway.

  5. #5
    Member 750sport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Frans

    Which Mazda model?

    Any idea of the Mitsubishi Electric model?

    I assume that this alternator attaches using the mount on the passenger side of block above the pan rail.

    Tony
    "fast , cheap and reliable...you can only pick two"

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts Frans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,491

    Default

    Tony
    That was a trick question because all I do is go to the breaker yard and point out to one on the shelf. One with a V pulley and not the multi groove ones.
    The label on mine is like this: IC REG BUILT IN
    B61V A
    A5T01777
    12V 60 A
    I hope that will help. It mounts on the same mounting as the Generators used to mount or in my case G alternator.
    Frans
    Old enough to know better
    Young enough to do it anyway.

  7. #7
    Member 750sport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Frans,

    That sounds too easy, I need to find a one to fit and then fabricate a top mount.

    What type of upper mount are you using?
    Does waterpump type effect the mounting?

    Tony
    "fast , cheap and reliable...you can only pick two"

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA. USA
    Posts
    69

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts Frans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,491

    Default

    Spot on.
    That is the exact model. Here are some pics of mine fitted.
    Frans
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Alternator Switch-pict0035a.jpg   Alternator Switch-pict0039a.jpg   Alternator Switch-pict0041.jpg   Alternator Switch-pict0043a.jpg  
    Old enough to know better
    Young enough to do it anyway.

  10. #10
    Member 750sport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Thanks for the Photos guys, they are great help, Frans your install looks good.

    I need an alternator with less than 60 amps output, as that the maximum my period (Smiths) gauge will accept, so I will visit the PickaPart photos in hand and try and find a 55-60 amp version

    The upper mounting, what is from?
    What does it attach to, the waterpump?
    Which waterpump are you using, and which waterpump to head housing?

    Sorry for all the questions but I am attempting to dress an incomplete 812 engine.

    Tony
    "fast , cheap and reliable...you can only pick two"

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts Frans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,491

    Default

    You can safely mount this alt because it will never charge to it's full capacity unless you have 8 spotlights wipers sound etc on at the same time. Remember it is capable of 60 amps but under normal driving conditions I estimate a peak for a short while after startup of 30-35 amps. As the battery returns to normal the amps go down and will settle at 5-10 amps.
    The bracket is home made of a piece of runner that is used in trays. Like in the kitchen or filing cabinet you get the tray opening on this runner with little ballbearings. You can use anything you have.
    Yes it mounts to the waterpump on the original bracket and it is the pump from a stock R8/R10 motor.
    Old enough to know better
    Young enough to do it anyway.

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,050

    Default Increasing The Scale Of An Ammeter

    Quote Originally Posted by 750sport
    Thanks for the Photos guys, they are great help, Frans your install looks good.

    I need an alternator with less than 60 amps output, as that the maximum my period (Smiths) gauge will accept, so I will visit the PickaPart photos in hand and try and find a 55-60 amp version

    The upper mounting, what is from?
    What does it attach to, the waterpump?
    Which waterpump are you using, and which waterpump to head housing?

    Sorry for all the questions but I am attempting to dress an incomplete 812 engine.

    Tony

    Tony,


    You can increase the scale of ammeter easily. Get an accurate ohm meter, disconnect everything off one side.

    Then measure the resistance of the meter get your self a resistor of the same value and connect in parallel with (across the ammeter) you will now read half of the current passing thru the meter (the other half goes thru the resistor)

    If you has a old ammeter you could use the internal resistor from that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •