Re-silvering old headlights on the cheap
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default Re-silvering old headlights on the cheap

Hi folks,

My headlights are those crap Marchal jobs with the internal high-beam reflectors, what lose their silver coating as they age (after only 30 years, how useless is that ). My current ones are OK-ish but the high-beam reflector is going on one of them, and seeing as I've got a spare (very rough) pair lying about I thought I'd try and recoat one.

I'm thinking off just pulling out the separate high-beam bit, rubbing it back a tad and spraying it with silver spraypaint. Has anyone tried this? Did it work?

I know I could get them professionally recoated but it costs $200 and I'm a broke student...

Cheers,
    Chris

Advertisement
    GS 1220 break. Beige cars go faster

Yes you could try the sand and spray method.

This is a cheap and nasty 25X Fix.

The result are only slightly better than no silvered reflector at all.

But if you persist---Use a high temprature paint, like the stuff used on Headers/extractors. This will extend the life of your bodgie fix.
    If you are lucky, it might fool MOT/Warrent of Fitness/Pinkslip/Reg etc.
    I have used it when I was a poor and struggling student myself.
    /// 1986 SII 505 GTI
    2003 T5 307 HDI
    2013 LandRover90
    Sacred cows make the best hamburger mince.
    If you run, you only die tired

Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by chris
    Hi folks,

My headlights are those crap Marchal jobs with the internal high-beam reflectors, what lose their silver coating as they age (after only 30 years, how useless is that ). My current ones are OK-ish but the high-beam reflector is going on one of them, and seeing as I've got a spare (very rough) pair lying about I thought I'd try and recoat one.