Dwell vs Gap
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Thread: Dwell vs Gap

mlb

Default Dwell vs Gap

Just wondering what the best method for setting points is. I thought I would adjust mine as the dwell angle was a bit on the low side. Reset the gap to 0.0016" as the manual says, only to find that the dwell angle was now arounde the 44 degree mark. So I used a bit of trial and error and made small adjustments to the gap until I got a angle of 57 degrees - as it should be. I cannot see how there can be so much difference, but the gap is now definately smaller than the specs.

Advertisement

After I set the points I had to retime the car as it had retarded a bit as a result of the change. I set the timing at around 7 degrees BTDC - 8 is the spec.

Now I have found that the car is lacking a bit on what it was before. It is harder to start, even warm, and seems low on power and runs a bit rough at times. Would I be better off in just setting the point gap as set out, or am I correct in working form the dwell angle as that is what determines the length of your spark - which is the important thing. It's just strange that there is such a descrepancy between the two.

I'm confident that advancing the timing was the correct thing to do as it was pinging before and now, although I've advanced the timing further, there isn't a ping in sight.

Any thoughts that could be offered would be a great help.

Thanks

Matt
    Fight for your opinions, but do not believe that they contain the whole truth, or the only truth.

Wow, this is a blast from the past! I bet most people on this forum couldn't answer it - only those with grey hair! The dwell and the gap are related. The bigger the gap, the smaller the dwell, as you've discovered. The dwell in normally more accurate, particularly with 2nd hand points. However, if it feels better at your measured 0.016", go with that, and set the advance to suit.
    Last edited by PeterT; 19th May 2005 at 10:54 PM.

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4