new rolling stock setup
  • Register
  • Help

Default new rolling stock setup

b4 anything else i did a search and couldn't find anything, so if there is, plz guide me to it.

owning a '68' R10, the wheels as stock are now too skinny for my liking.
    so i want to upgrade the wheels...now i know i'll need new hubs for one, but i was thinking of puttin a new brake kit in, instead.

so i was jus wondering if any1 else has done this?, that is, take the stock R10 wheels and replace them with slightly larger ones, and changing the brakes over and to account for a 5 stud wheel.

what would be recommended to upgrade to?, ppl tell me all diff things, but i'd rather get some good advice, not jus dribs and drabs of it.

i'm new to the technical workings of changing existing setups, so bare with my noobishness.

Advertisement

a total cost would be appreciated if ppl could.
    i know it depends on what i get, but a rough price range for light to medium spending on these alterations.

thanx

I think that perhaps you are wasting a lot of worry and concern on the three-stud wheels... they're okay, just get some wider rims put on them.

The cost of changing to 5-stud or anything else is likely to be horrendous.

The 3-stud wheels have proved fine in rallying, racing and all sorts of conditions all over the world.

I have 3 stud alloy Perfomance Superlite wheels (15 x 6 Minilite copy) on my 4CV, with R 10 disc brakes all round. Performance did these for me a few years ago, although I did have to get some holes milled in the back of the wheels to go over the disc retaining bolts. At that time they were $180 ea with the correct 3 x 150 pattern. You would have to mention the additional machining for the bolts.

The only slight disadvantage is that the wheel is for 4WD to accomodate the large PCD, and have extra gusseting in the back, that comes with a wheel for 4WD. A light alloy wheel would weigh around 6 Kg, whereas these are 7.5Kg, but do look pretty.