Erratic Oil temp gauge Mi16
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default Erratic Oil temp gauge Mi16

Hi Guys,

Don't know what you all drive yet, but i'm sure I'll find out soon enough!!

I drive a 91 405Mi16 with 292000 km's on the clock! Still going strong though!

Wondering if anyone has had their oil temp gauge jump from 90 to the 100 mark then the cooler fans kick in! I know it's not the heat or driving too hard because it happens when it's cold and I'm taking it easy!!!

Any help would be greatly apreciated!!!

Advertisement

Drew

g'day drew, im a fellow 405 mi16 driver, but mine has 413,000k's on it, shes got a bit of life left yet!

on the oil temp front, im having gauge probs too, in that mine doesent work at all, can anyone tell me where the sensor and plugs at either end are located??
    '91 Peugeot 405 Mi16 - only just run in......

Icon10

Quote Originally Posted by bj_dove
    g'day drew, im a fellow 405 mi16 driver, but mine has 413,000k's on it, shes got a bit of life left yet!

on the oil temp front, im having gauge probs too, in that mine doesent work at all, can anyone tell me where the sensor and plugs at either end are located??

i had a prob with my gauge a year ago. ended up being a loose wire on the sump. It was dragging along the ground and it was showing the oil temp going up and down all the time. Easy fix though. Sounds like an earth prob, as far as I know the sensor is at the bottom of the sump.

Dave
    78 Fiat X1/9, Peugeot 406 ST, Peugeot 407 V6 SW

Previous:

05 Megane Turbo
    2x 89 405 Mi16
    67 404

Peugeot, Francais pour "Putain qu'c'est vite"[/FONT]

I didn't think the fans were connected in any way to the oil temp. The fans are controlled by a sensor under neath the theromostat housing. If this sensor becomes open circuit (from coolant dripping on it) the fans will turn on hard (2nd speed).

'92 205 Mi16
    '90 Mi16x4

1000+ Posts

Yep, the sensor is at the rear of the sump near the bottom engine mount.