Compression Boiling Engine
  • Register
  • Help
    1000+ Posts

Default Compression Boiling Engine

This is a reproduction of David Leadbetter's letter to CAR MECHANICS hoping to receive learned oppinions. The story is a little weared but i'm no expert but i know that diesel burnes. As a teenager a converted a 50cc moped (2 stroke) to run on diesel (after warming up the engine with petrol) It smoked like a factory, and moderate performance - not a good look in todays enviromental concerns - but it was more than 40 years ago.
    www.carmechanicsmag.co.uk
    It is high time that the diesel engine be re-classified from a compression igition engine to a compression boiling engine.
    After much thought and some experimentation over the past twelve years. I now conclude that the diesel engine does not burn its fuel, but rather boils it under high pressure, converting the atomised liquid into a rapidly expanding gas.
    Only when the Physicists and Engineers accept this fact can the world move on to using water as a replacement for fuel oil, whether the latter be diesel oil or a by-product of waste cooking oil and rapeseed oil.
    An interesting experiment proved without doubt the point I am making, that the exhoust gasses from a diesel engine, when passed through a tank of cold water, will condense back to oil and float to the surface of the water once calm. If the fue soil was burned, it could not condense as oil.
    The next point in question is the widely variable air/fuel mixture of the diesel engine. This ranges from 22;1 AT MAXIMUM LOAD TO 85:1 AT NO LOAD TICKOVER, WHICH DETERMINES THAT THE MIXTURE AT ANY LEVE IS FAR TOO WEAK TO BURN, by COMPARING THE PETROL ENGINE THAT DOES BURN ITS FUEL, IT BECOMES APPARENT THAT IN FACT THE DIESEL CAN ONLY BOIL ITS FUEL.