205gti gear linkage
  • Register
  • Help

Default 205gti gear linkage

The gear linkage on my 87 295gti needs to be replaced and I was just wondering what I can expect this to cost and how much I might be able to save if I did it myself? If of course this is something that can be done without too much trouble and achieving a good result.

Advertisement

Default Gear Linkages

I replaced the rods (2 of) on my 205 GTI with genuine Peugeot ones about 6 months ago and from memory cost me about $50, could have been a little less. Just a tip - dont adjust the rods as apparently they come preset in length. I have no mechanical hands on experience and did the job myself with the help of a friends car lift. Takes about 5 minutes to do, you just need to get a good posi under the car.

good luck

Trent, Adelaide.

hey mate,

a little of topic, but is that your white pug i often see parked in a side street just off fitzroy st, near cantebury rd???

Quote Originally Posted by amcc
    The gear linkage on my 87 295gti needs to be replaced and I was just wondering what I can expect this to cost and how much I might be able to save if I did it myself? If of course this is something that can be done without too much trouble and achieving a good result.
    Hey amcc,

Yep easy and relatively cheap job this one. Just be sure to do it when the exhaust is cold, I seem to recall singeing a few hairs last time I did it!
    Regards,
    Matt
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Imagine watching the entire French Air-Force crash into a fireworks factory. That's how much fun this car is."

Jeremy Clarkson - talking about the V6 Clio
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thanks guys and hello Matt

Quote Originally Posted by rogue
    hey mate,