205gti gear linkage
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! amcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Marraweeney Victoria
    Posts
    311

    Default 205gti gear linkage

    The gear linkage on my 87 295gti needs to be replaced and I was just wondering what I can expect this to cost and how much I might be able to save if I did it myself? If of course this is something that can be done without too much trouble and achieving a good result.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Member ozclio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    57

    Default Gear Linkages

    I replaced the rods (2 of) on my 205 GTI with genuine Peugeot ones about 6 months ago and from memory cost me about $50, could have been a little less. Just a tip - dont adjust the rods as apparently they come preset in length. I have no mechanical hands on experience and did the job myself with the help of a friends car lift. Takes about 5 minutes to do, you just need to get a good posi under the car.

    good luck

    Trent, Adelaide.

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! rogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    139

    Default

    hey mate,

    a little of topic, but is that your white pug i often see parked in a side street just off fitzroy st, near cantebury rd???

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! matt205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amcc
    The gear linkage on my 87 295gti needs to be replaced and I was just wondering what I can expect this to cost and how much I might be able to save if I did it myself? If of course this is something that can be done without too much trouble and achieving a good result.
    Hey amcc,

    Yep easy and relatively cheap job this one. Just be sure to do it when the exhaust is cold, I seem to recall singeing a few hairs last time I did it!
    Regards,
    Matt
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Imagine watching the entire French Air-Force crash into a fireworks factory. That's how much fun this car is."

    Jeremy Clarkson - talking about the V6 Clio
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger! amcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Marraweeney Victoria
    Posts
    311

    Default

    thanks guys and hello Matt

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! amcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Marraweeney Victoria
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rogue
    hey mate,

    a little of topic, but is that your white pug i often see parked in a side street just off fitzroy st, near cantebury rd???
    i park on Gore street which is one back toward Brunswick from Smith, near the corner with Jonhston (spelling???). it is near a Fitzroy st but not sure about Cantebury rd. where is that? i am new to the are (start of the year).
    have we got the same fitzroy street? not so sure if we do.

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger! bazgti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    nth balwyn, victoria
    Posts
    1,428

    Default

    there is actually two different gear linkages in your 205 .
    first one is a set of two that are near the shifter and the second one which goes from the linkage arm bracket to the gear box .
    check before replacing that the bracket is not loose .i bought a set of the two shifter linkages for about $46 from peugeot only to find the bracket was loose .i tightened it up and didnt need the linkage change
    .also the longer linkage arm that goes to the gearbox usually wears beforwe the others ,so i am told by the guys at peugeot.
    mine is a bit worn and i will probably change the lot at once.
    hope this helps=BAZZ

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger! amcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Marraweeney Victoria
    Posts
    311

    Default

    thank you all once again. thanks Bazz i was told that the linkage needed atention (and you sure as hell can feel it) and was going to do it myself to save some $$$. i will check to see that all is snug under there first thoug. my first problem to overcom however is to make the thing start on call as you will see if you check out my other thread in this section.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •